FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS
Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC 9780062299253 The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go so Their Children Can Succeed
Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC 9780062299253 The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed

The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go so Their Children Can Succeed

$14.99 $15.99
  • Vendor: Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC
  • Product Type: Book
  • Barcode: 9780062299253
  • Condition: New
  • Format: BOOK
  • Binding: paperback
  • Author: Jessica Lahey
  • Publisher: Harper
  • Published: August 23, 2016
  • ISBN 13: 9780062299253
  • SKU: M8822
DESCRIPTION
In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment and frustration that occur from life’s inevitable problems so that they can grow up to be successful, resilient, and self-reliant adults. Modern parenting is defined by an unprecedented level of overprotectiveness: parents who rush to school at the whim of a phone call to deliver forgotten assignments, who challenge teachers on report card disappointments, mastermind children’s friendships, and interfere on the playing field. As teacher and writer Jessica Lahey explains, even though these parents see themselves as being highly responsive to their children’s well being, they aren’t giving them the chance to experience failure—or the opportunity to learn to solve their own problems.

RECENTLY VIEWED PRODUCTS

BACK TO TOP