FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS
Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC 9781635570267 A Sound Mind: How I Fell in Love With Classical Music (and Decided to Rewrite its Entire History)
Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC 9781635570267 A Sound Mind: How I Fell in Love With Classical Music (and Decided to Rewrite its Entire History)

A Sound Mind: How I Fell in Love With Classical Music (and Decided to Rewrite its Entire History)

$24.99 $30.00
  • Vendor: Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC
  • Product Type: Book
  • Barcode: 9781635570267
  • Condition: New
  • Format: BOOK
  • Binding: hardcover
  • Author: Paul Morley
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Published: November 10. 2020
  • ISBN 13: 9781635570267
  • SKU: P0496S
DESCRIPTION
For readers of Mozart in the Jungle and Year of Wonder, a new history of and guide to classical music. Paul Morley made his name as a journalist covering the rock and pop of the 1970s and 1980s. But as his career progressed, he found himself drawn toward developing technologies, streaming platforms, and, increasingly, the music from the past that streaming services now made available. Suddenly able to access every piece Mozart or Bach had ever written and to curate playlists that worked with these musicians' themes across different performers, composers, and eras, he began to understand classical music in a whole new way and to believe that it was music at its most dramatic and revealing. In A Sound Mind, Morley takes readers along on his journey into the history and future of classical music. His descriptions, explanations, and guidance make this seemingly arcane genre more friendly to listeners and show the music's power, depth, and timeless beauty. In Morley's capable hands, the history of the classical genre is shown to be the history of all music, with these long-ago pieces influencing everyone from jazz greats to punk rockers and the pop musicians of today.

RECENTLY VIEWED PRODUCTS

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
BACK TO TOP