My Cart

Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC 9780307455475 The Year Of The Flood (the Maddaddam Trilogy)

Marissa's Books & Gifts, LLC

The Year Of The Flood (the Maddaddam Trilogy)

The long-awaited new novel from Margaret Atwood. The Year of the Flood is a dystopic masterpiece and a testament to her visionary power. The times and species have been changing at a rapid rate, and the social compact is wearing as thin as environmental stability. Adam One, the kindly leader of the god's gardeners-a religion devoted to the melding of science and religion, as well as the preservation of all plant and animal life-has long predicted a natural disaster that will alter earth as we know it. now it has occurred, obliterating most human life. Two women have survived: Ren, a young trapeze dancer locked inside the high-end sex club scales and tails, and Toby, a god's gardener barricaded inside a luxurious spa where many of the treatments are edible.have others survived? Ren's bioartist friend Amanda? Zeb, her eco-fighter stepfather? her onetime lover, Jimmy? or the murderous painballers, survivors of the mutual-elimination painball... The New York Times Book Review: Jeanette Winterson: "Atwood is funny and clever, such a good writer and real thinker that there's hardly any point saying that not everything in the novel works. why should it? A high level of creativity has to let in some chaos…The flaws in the year of the flood are part of the pleasure, as they are with human beings, that species so threatened by its own impending suicide and held up here for us to look at, mourn over, laugh at and hope for. Atwood knows how to show us ourselves, but the mirror she holds up to life does more than reflect—it's like one of those mirrors made with mercury that gives us both a deepening and a distorting effect, allowing both the depths of human nature and its potential mutations. We don't know how we will evolve, or if we will evolve at all. The year of the flood isn't prophecy, but it is eerily possible."
$14.00 USD $15.57 USD

Item Details

Margaret Atwood
December 31, 2009